Home - Pakistan - Tourism in Pakistan: 16 National Monuments of Pakistan

Tourism in Pakistan: 16 National Monuments of Pakistan

(Last Updated On: 19/08/2016)

In 1997, there were nine National Monuments in Pakistan according to Pakistan Environmental Protection Agency (PEPA). As of 2016, there are eleven National Monuments of Pakistan. Almost four hundred places by provincial governments and three hundred places by the federal government have been declared by as protected and national monuments areas. However, officially there are eleven monuments while there are many other places as well that are also treated as national monuments.

In Pakistan government is striving to furtherance the system of protected areas for the protection of monuments, archaeological sites, buildings, endangered species, habitats, and ecosystems. Protected areas in Pakistan can be broadly categorized into two sections; they are ecosystems and archaeological & cultural sites.

In Pakistan, there already exists an extensive list of officially notified protected archaeological sites and monuments under the Antiquities Act 1975. The approach in developing these guidelines is to concentrate on the protection of the existing sites. New sites may also be notified through the federal or provincial archaeology departments.

The Federal Department of Archaeology maintains a master register containing basic and vital information on the protected monuments and sites including full measurements of the protected area, description, location and government notification with the date of protection.

Here is the list of National Monuments of Pakistan

First 11 are officially recognized National Monuments of Pakistan.

  1. Quaid-E-Azam’s Mazar – Mausoleum of Muhammad Ali Jinnah – KarachiQuaid-e-Azam's Mazar - Mausoleum of Muhammad Ali Jinnah - Karachi

  2. Wazir Mansion – Birthplace of Muhammad Ali Jinnah – KarachiWazir Mansion - Birthplace of Muhammad Ali Jinnah - Karachi

  3. Khaliq Dina Public Hall and Library, Karachi

  4. Quaid-E-Azam House Museum Flagstaff House, KarachiQuaid-e-Azam House Museum Flagstaff House, Karachi

  5. Tomb of Allama Muhammad Iqbal, Lahoretomb of Allama Muhammad Iqbal, Lahore

  6. Allama Iqbal Museum (Javed Manzil), LahoreAllama Iqbal Museum (Javeed Manzil), Lahore

  7. Islamic Summit Minar, LahoreIslamic Summit Minar, Lahore

  8. Professor Abdul Salam’s House, JhangAbdul salam house

  9. Quaid-E-Azam Residency, Ziarat, BalochistanQuaid-e-Azam Residency, Ziarat, Balochistan

  10. Pakistan Monument, IslamabadPakistan Monument

  11. Minar-E-Pakistan, LahoreMinar-e-Pakistan, Lahore

  12. Historical Monuments of Thatta, SindhHistorical Monuments of Thatta

  13. Archaeological Site of Mohenjodaro, SindhArchaeological Site of Mohenjodaro

  14. Old Fort or Shahi Qilla, LahoreOld Fort or Shahi Qilla, Lahore

  15. Shalimar Garden, LahoreShalimar Garden. Lahore

  16. Buddhist Ruins of Takht-I-Bhai and City Remains at Sehri BahlolBuddhist Ruins of Takht-i-Bhai and City Remains at Sehri Bahlol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *