Home - Sports - T20 World Cup 2016 Time Table and Schedule

T20 World Cup 2016 Time Table and Schedule

(Last Updated On: 15/11/2015)

The upcoming T20 World Cup will be held in 2016 in March and April. India is likely to host this mega event this time. It will be the first chance for Indian to host an ICC T20 World Cup. In 2011, 50 over ODI World Cup was hosted by India.

Up to now, no scheduled is announced officially International Cricket Council (ICC). T20 World Cup 2016 will be the 6th world cup in the series of ICC World T20. According to sources, mega event is scheduled to hold from March 11, 2016, to April 3, 2016, in India. Sri Lanka is the defending champions.

It will be the second time that 16 teams will be the part of this long awaited event. Ten full members have already qualified for the event automatically while other six associate members had qualified through the ICC World T20 Qualifier 2015 that were played between July 6 to 26, 2015 in Ireland and Scotland.

Here is the list of qualified teams

First Group/Round

  • Bangladesh (Full Member)
  • Zimbabwe (Full Member)
  • Scotland (Qualifier)
  • Ireland (Qualifier)
  • Hong Kong (Qualifier)
  • Netherlands (Qualifier)
  • Afghanistan (Qualifier)
  • Oman (Qualifier)

Second/Super 10 Round

  • India (Host)

Full members:

  • Australia
  • England
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Venues & Stadiums:

According to an announcement made by Indian Cricket Board (BCCI), eight cities of India will be hosting the matches. These cities are Mumbai, Mohali, Chennai, New Delhi, Kolkata, Dharamshala, Bengaluru, and Nagpur.

  • Eden Gardens – Kolkata
  • Chinnaswamy Stadium – Bengaluru
  • A. Chidambaram Stadium – Chennai
  • Wankhede Stadium – Mumbai
  • Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium – Dharamshala
  • Feroz Shah Kotla Ground – New Delhi
  • Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium – Mohali
  • Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium – Nagpur

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *