Fidya /Fitrana 2018 in Pakistan Fixed At Rs. 100

The minimum amount of one of the most obligatory activities of Eid al-Fitr, Fitrana, has been fixed at Rs. 100 per person for Eid 2018 in Pakistan. According to the press release issued by the Central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee, the amount for Fitrana has been announced by Chairman Mufti Muneebur Rehman after consulting with rest of the Ulema of the Committee.

According to the Mufti Muneebur Rehman, the amount of market price of 2.25KG of flour is Rs. 100 and same is the amount of Fitrana for Eid al-Fitr 2018 in Pakistan.

Fitrana that is also called as Zakat al-Fitr is a charity given to the poor at the end of fasting of Ramadan. According to Islamic Sharia, Fitrana can be paid on or equal to the worth of wheat, barley, date, and raisins. The Fitrana equal to the price of barley, dates, and raisins for the year 2018 is Rs. 240 and Rs. 1,600 and Rs. 1,920 per head respectively.

The amount of Fidya Saaom for 30 days, Kaffara So’om for needy persons and Kafara Qasam is also mentioned in the press release.

Mufti Muneebur Rehman advised all Muslims to pay the amount payable according to Sharia to the poor before Eid al-Fitr so that they could also celebrate the festival.

Fitrana Amount for Shia Muslims

The above mentioned Fitrana amount is for all Muslims except Shiite Muslims. Shiite scholar and speaker of Imambargah F-11 Markaz Islamabad, Allama Syed Zafar Abbas set the minimum of Fitrana amount Rs, 150 for Fiqh-i-Jafria. Those Shia Muslims eat wheat will pay Rs. 150 as Fitrana amount and those eat wheat and rice will pay Rs. 300 per person as Fitrana amount.

When to Pay Fitrana

Fitrana is only Wajib for a particular period. It must be paid from sunset on the last day of fasting and remains payable until the start of Eid Prayer. According to most of the Islamic Scholars, it can be paid before the above mentioned period as it will make the poor able to prepare for the festival of Eid.

Who is Entitled to Receive Fitrana

The distribution of Fitrana is much like Zakat. It is distributed in eight categories of recipients that are like the receiver of Zakat. They include:

  1. the poor
  2. the needy,
  3. collectors of Zakah,
  4. reconciliation of hearts,
  5. freeing captives/slaves
  6. debtors
  7. those fighting for a religious cause or a cause of God or for Jihad in the way of Allah[5] and for Islamic warriors who fight against the unbelievers but are not part of salaried soldiers
  8. the traveller
Abdul Hadi
Abdul Hadi

Author is a C.A and professional blogger who has been writing since ten years. He specializes on various topics including Business, Technology, News, and local reviews. Abdul graduated from Skans School of accountancy in 2014. He like to produce useful guides for local readers. He also writes for different newspapers and blogs. You can reach him on Facebook


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *