Global T20 League Canada Teams: Shahid Afridi and 10 other Pakistani Cricketers in Squads

Among the three cricket formats widely played across the globe under the umbrella of International Cricket Council (ICC), the young cricket fans look more inclined towards the T20 format. This shortest format of the game gives more of the entertainment in less time. What else it offers is raining fours and sixes, which means pure entertainment to the cricket-fans.

Amid the eminent cricket leagues like PSL, IPL, Big Bash League, CPL and others this time cricket-world looks all set to witness a new cricket league named as Global T20 League Canada. The league is all set to go live from June 28 to July 15.

Six teams will be in action and some of the biggest cricket stars would be exhibiting their power show in this Canada-based league. What’s more fascinating about this league is it will mark the return of Aussie stars Steve Smith and David Warner, who were out of the cricketing circles after found guilty in ball tampering scandal against South Africa.

Pakistani cricketers would also be shinning in this T20 league, notably, the Boom Boom Shahid Afridi will be making the crowd go crazy in this league. Apart from him, 10 other Pakistani cricketers will also be part of this blitzing league.



Toronto Nationals: Darren Sammy, Steve Smith, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Ruman Rias, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Naveed Ahmed, Nasakat Khan, Farhan Malik, Nitesh Kumar, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Muhammad Umair Ghani.


Vancouver Knights: Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekara, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Salman Nazar, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Jeremy Gordon.


Winnipeg Hawks: Dwayne Bravo, David Miller, David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddique, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip.


Edmonton Royals:  Shahid Afridi, Chris Lynn, Luke Ronchi, Mohammed Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Ammar Khalid, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Simon Pervez, Abraash Khan.


Montreal Tigers: Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Mohammed Ibrahim Khaleel, Dilon Heylinger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyankhan Pathan.


Rana Hamza is local journalist from Multan and work for local news agency. He is also Feature Writer for and very active in sports and showbiz news insights. He holds Masters in English Writing. Mashable Pakistans's Web Culture Reporter. Reach out to him on Twitter via email at hamza [at] Hamza graduated from Emerson University of Multan in 2015.

View all posts by Hamza

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *