Web.pkNews & Politics

Celebrities vs Politicians: Election 2013

Musarrat Shaheen vs. Moulana Fazl ur Rehman

Like 2008 Musarrat Shaheen once again appeared in competition with Moulana Fazl ur Rehman in General Election 2013 Pakistan. Although Moulana Fazl ur Rehman lost his seat at NA-24 last time but his number of votes were far more than Musarrat Shaheen. She lost in 2008 to Moulana Fazl ur Rehman but she gave it another chance in Election 2013 but result remains the same. She lost to him again and the loss is a humiliating one. Moulana Fazl ur Rehman according to official results at Election commission of Pakistan’s website got 91,834 votes while Musarrat Shaheen was able to get only 99 votes.

Meera vs. Imran Khan

At first Meera said that she will compete against Imran Khan from Lahore in General Elections 2013 Pakistan. She then decided not to compete and rather she will promote her mother Shafqat Zahra’s campaign for PP-283. The results show that her mother lost badly to Muslim League (Z) candidate Ch. Ghulam Murtaza who secured 43,262 votes while Shafqat Zahra Bukhari was able to grab only 225 votes.

Abrar Ul Haque vs. Ahsan Iqbal

Abrar Ul Haque was competing for NA-117 Narowal-III. He was the candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf while Ahsan Iqbal was representing Pakistan Muslim League (N). Abrar Ul Haque according to Election Commission’s official website results secured 51,838 votes while Ahsan Iqbal secured 94,744 votes and won the seat.

So the history has revealed here that celebrities in competition with politicians have not been successful in Pakistan and politicians have successfully handled the game of politics in Pakistan.

Umar Farooq
Umar Farooq

Umer Farooq is a hobbyist British writer, who likes to write about Politics, Sports, Fashion and Technology. Having secured a Master’s degree in Executive Leadership from University of Ulster United Kingdom, he has a firm grip on current issues. Research work also is one of the his favourite areas and it came natural to him.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *